A POEM FOR OUR TIME by Patricia Feinberg Stoner

Our first poetry contribution. Thanks Patricia

 

Phone the bank, tuppence a word

Tuppence, tuppence, tuppence a word.

I tried to phone my bank today,

I needed some advice:

My account was nearly overdrawn

Which wasn’t very nice.

A charming young man answered me:

“Good morning, I’m Sanjay.

I’m at your service, ma’am,” he said,

“How may I help today?”

I told him what the problem was.

“Just let me check,” he said.

I waited for a quarter hour

And then the phone went dead.

I tried to get my bank online

But when I pressed the key

‘This website can’t be shown’ is what

The damn thing said to me.

I tried to see my bank today,

I had to take a train,

But when I got there it was closed

So I’d struck out – again!

And now I’m badly overdrawn

I know just who to thank.

For that, my friends, is what you get

When you try to phone the bank

Phone the bank, tuppence a word

Tuppence, tuppence, tuppence a word.

 

About Rosemary Noble

Writer, author, amateur historian and traveller
This entry was posted in Poem and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

